Vanderven strives to be the best source of fascinating stories related to oriental art. In our discover columns, we frequently publish interesting stories, exhibitions and other tales from the orient.

Three Teachings in China Sanjiao

The Three Teachings, or Three Teachings in Harmony (三敎合一 Sānjiào Héyī), refer to the three main beliefs in China: Confucianism, Daoism and Buddhism. To this day they co-exist in harmony, often practised simultaneously, even overlapping in certain areas. Together they reflect the long history, mutual influence and even complementary teaching of these belief systems. Each practice has dominated or risen to favour during certain periods of time. Chinese emperors sometimes preferred one of the teachings and the others would temporarily fall out of favour, but re-emerge again at a later date. One of the earliest references to this Trinitarian idea is attributed to Li Shiqian, a 6th century scholar, who wrote that “Buddhism is the sun, Daoism the moon, and Confucianism the five planets.” – meaning they are separate entities but coexist in harmony.

read more

Koninklijke VHOK Cursusprogramma Najaar 2021!

Kunst en antiek komen dichterbij dan ooit; stukken worden in detail bekeken en toegelicht en u krijgt informatie over de waardeontwikkeling van objecten. Het gaat in deze cursus niet alleen over kennis, maar zeker ook over de liefde voor oude kunst & antiek! Lees gauw verder voor meer informatie.

Schrijf je nu in!

Timeline Chinese Dynasties

Learn more!